2017-2018 Directors and Officers

The STAA Board of Directors is comprised of nine directors serving three-year terms. One-third of the directors are elected each year at the annual meeting from among the Association’s active members. No two directors can be representatives of the same active member.

Ex officio directors appointed for one-year terms. They are (1) the executive vice president of the Arizona Crop Improvement Association, (2) a representative of the College of Agriculture at the University of Arizona and (3) a representative of the Arizona Department of Agriculture. The immediate past president is an ex officio member if his or her term as a board member has expired during that year of service.

Officer elections are held at a special board meeting following director elections. A second vice president, a secretary and a treasurer are elected annually. The incumbent first vice president/president elect and second vice president are each elevated to the next position in the rotation.

The officers form an executive committee that conducts Association affairs between meetings of the full board.


Timothy Butcher, President
Priority Seed Production, LLC
PO Box 5176
Yuma, AZ 85366
Phone: 928-726-2996 
Cell: (928)919-5901 

Ray Drachenberg, First Vice President
Monsanto – Deltapine
15790 S Hwy 87
Eloy, AZ 85131
Cell: 928-287-7709

Justin Gillies, 2nd Vice president
Imperial Vegetable Seeds, Inc.
1101 S. McCullom
El Centro, CA 92243-3408
Phone: 760-353-1565
Cell 760-554-6979

Justin Lewis, Past President
Santa Maria Seeds, Inc.
3948 E. 41 Place
Yuma, AZ 85365
Cell: (928)246-3411 
Phone: 928-343-2664

Chad Hefner, Secretary
Santa Maria Seeds, Inc.
3948 E. 41 Place
Yuma, AZ 85365
Cell: (928)215-9954 
Phone: 928-343-2664

Abed Anouti, Treasurer/Ex-Officio
Arizona Crop Improvement Association
2120 E. Allen Road
Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone: 520-305-3586 
Cell: (520) 429-1220 

G. John Carvetta / Ex-Officio
Arizona Dept of Agriculture
1688 W. Adams Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone (602) 542-0996
Fax (602) 542-0922

Tanya Hodges /Ex-Officio
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
3200 W. 12th Street
Yuma, AZ 85364
Phone: 928-271-9560
Cell: 928-271-9560 

Sabrina Hallman
Sierra Seed Company
P.O Box 7120
Nogales, AZ 85628
Phone: (520)281-9420    Cell: (520)870-2326

Larry Glenn
Barkley Seed, Inc.
P.O. Box 5540
Yuma, AZ 85364
Phone: 928-782-2571 Cell: (928)503-2444 
Fax: 928-782-4656

Pam Ferguson,  
Dunn Grain Company
1129 S. Arizona Avenue
Yuma, AZ 85365
Phone: (928)344-3866 
Cell: (928) 246-5140

Justin Mai
Gowan Seed Company
2948 S. Ave 7E
Yuma, AZ 85365
Cell: 928-503-2444 

Doug Henry, 
Wilbur-Ellis Company
2651 E. 14th Street
Yuma, AZ  85365
(928) 344-1926